edited by Victoria Blake

Published: February 2, 2013 
ISBN 978-1-63023-096-8


Before email,
before the world wide web,
before hackers,
Before sexting,
before always-on GPS,
before titanium implants,
before Alexa, Cortana, and Siri,
before the computer in your pocket was more powerful than the one that sent astronauts to the moon,
there was cyberpunk.

And science fiction was never the same.

Cyberpunk writers—serious, smart, and courageous in the face of change—exposed the naiveté of a society rushing headlong into technological unknowns. Technology could not save us, they argued, and it might in fact ruin us.

Now, thirty years after The Movement party-crashed the scene, the cyberpunk reality has largely come to be.

The future they imagined is here.

With an introduction by Victoria Blake and stories by William Gibson, Bruce Sterling, Jonathan Lethem, Kim Stanley Robinson, David Marusek, Benjamin Parzybok, Cat Rambo, Paul Tremblay, Pat Cadigan, Gwyneth Jones, Mark Teppo, Greg Bear, Lewis Shiner, Rudy Rucker, James Patrick Kelly, John Shirley, Daniel H. Wilson, Paul Di Filippo, and Cory Doctorow.

Welcome to your cyberpunk world.

The alphabetical table of contents is as follows:

  • Greg Bear – “Fall of the House of Escher” 
  • Pat Cadigan – “Rock On” 
  • Paul Di Filippo – “Life in the Anthropocene” 
  • Cory Doctorow – “When Sysadmins Ruled the Earth” 
  • William Gibson – “Johnny Mnemonic” 
  • Gwyneth Jones – “Blue Clay Blues” 
  • James Patrick Kelly – “Mr. Boy” 
  • Jonathan Lethem – “Interview with the Crab” 
  • David Marusek – “Getting to Know You”
  • Mark Teppo – “The Lost Technique of Blackmail” 
  • Benjamin Parzybok – “El Pepenador” 
  • Cat Rambo – “Memories of Moments, Bright as Falling Stars” 
  • Rudy Rucker – “The Jack Kerouac Disembodied School of Poetics” 
  • Kim Stanley Robinson – “Down and Out in the Year 2000” 
  • Lewis Shiner – “Soldier, Sailor”
  • John Shirley – “Wolves of the Plateau” 
  • Bruce Sterling – “User-Centric” 
  • Bruce Sterling & Lewis Shiner – “Mozart in Mirrorshades” 
  • Paul Tremblay – “The Blog at the End of the World” 
  • Daniel H. Wilson – “The Nostalgist”